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 THE COCHISE COUNTY ATTORNEY  
GUIDE TO ADOPTION PROCEEDINGS  

 
 
The Cochise County Attorney’s Office may be able to serve as your 
attorney in an adoption proceeding involving a minor child or children. For 
representation by our office, children must be under the age of eighteen 
years prior to filing the Petition for Adoption (“Petition”). Additionally, the 
child must reside in the State of Arizona at the time the Petition is filed and 
the child cannot be an illegal alien.  Our office is available to represent 
prospective adoptive parents only in adoptions that are not contested. In 
the adoption cases we accept for service, the Petitioner, and not the birth 
parent, is our client. When we accept your case, there is no fee charged to 
you for our representation, but you will be required to pay any costs that 
may be involved.  
 
If the planned adoption is or becomes contested, our office will be unable to 
represent you. In those situations, we suggest that you seek the assistance 
of a private attorney in order to proceed. If you have any reason to believe 
that your petition for adoption may be opposed by someone, we ask that 
you notify us right away.  
 
Adoptions in Arizona are governed by Title 8 of the Arizona Revised 
Statutes. The specific requirements set out in those statutes must be met in 
order for the Court to enter an order of adoption. With your help, we will 
assist you in meeting the statutory requirements.  
 
This guide is intended to provide you with an overview of the adoption 
process and how the Cochise County Attorney’s Office will assist you. We 
feel it is important that you understand the general process and our 
respective roles throughout your adoption. Please keep in mind that your 
particular adoption may have unique circumstances that must be 
considered and may not be addressed in this general overview. If you 
intend to request the assistance of our office, please wait until you have 
contacted our office and received our guidance before undertaking any 
procedure on your own. 
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Am I able to adopt a child in Arizona? 

 
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 8-103, a prospective adoptive parent must be:  
 

(a) an adult (i.e. 18 years of age or older); and 
 
(b) a resident of the State of Arizona.  

 
(For purpose of your adoption: A resident of the State of Arizona is a 
person who is physically present in Arizona and who intends to make 
Arizona his or her permanent home and has evidence of that intention. 
Examples of evidence we may require are: paying Arizona taxes, holding 
an Arizona Drivers License and voting in Arizona. The resident criteria must 
also be met by military personnel stationed in Arizona.)  
 
 

Do I need a Pre-Adoption Certification?  
 

If you are one of the persons named in (a) through (c) below, you are not 
required to obtain Pre-Adoption Certification prior to our office assisting 
you:  
 

(a) the spouse of the adoptive child’s birth or legal parent; or  
 

(b) the child’s uncle, aunt, adult sibling, grandparent or great- 
grandparent; or  

 
(c) the widow or widower of (a) or (b) if at the time of death the 

relative had legal and physical custody of the child and the child 
lived with you for 24 months before the relative died. (A.R.S. § 8-
105(N))  

 
If you are not one of the persons named above, you are required to obtain 
Pre-Adoption Certification prior to our office assisting you with your 
adoption.  
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Pre-Adoption Certification information will be given to you upon your initial 

contact with this office, if we determine that you need to be certified as 

acceptable to adopt and you have not already done so. 

 

 

What does the Cochise County Attorney’s Office  
initially need from me in order to start the adoption process?  

 
Information  
 
When you call our office, you will be asked some general questions. If you 
do not need pre-adoption certification, or if you have already been certified, 
an Adoption Information Sheet (one for each child) will be sent to you.  
 
Fingerprints  
 
You will be given instructions and a fingerprint card for each adult (any 
person 18 years of age and older) in the household (with the exception of 
the birth or legal parent of the child being adopted), if you do not have a 
fingerprint clearance card or have not been fingerprinted as part of a pre-
adoption certification process.  
 
Once you have been fingerprinted, you will return the completed fingerprint 
card(s) to our office, together with a cashier’s check or money order, in the 
amount of $22.00 for each card, payable to “Arizona DPS.”  
 
Background Check 
 
If a Central Registry Records search has not already been performed as 
part of a pre-adoption certification process, each adult in the household, 
including the birth parent, must have a search of their name performed by 
the Department of Child Safety (DCS). This process is coordinated through 
our office and you will be provided with detailed instructions. All household  
members must be listed on the form we provide to you and each adult 
household member must provide a signature on this form giving permission 
for DCS to release information contained in the Central Registry Records to 
our office.  
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Who has to consent or be notified of the adoption?  
 

Consent To The Adoption  
 

1. The adoptive child must consent to the adoption if that child is 
twelve years of age or older.  

 
2. The birth or adoptive mother of the child being adopted must 

consent to the adoption, unless she is deceased or her parental 
rights have been severed.  

 
3. The birth father of the child being adopted, if alive, must consent to 

the adoption if he was married to the mother during the child’s 
conception or at any time between conception and the child’s birth, 
unless his paternity is excluded; or another man’s paternity is 
established; or his paternity has been established by a court order; 
or his name is on the birth certificate. 

 
4. An adoptive father must consent to the adoption.  

 
Consent from the birth father is not required if:  

 
a. his parental rights have been severed by a court; or  
 
b. he was not married to the mother at any time during the child’s 

conception or birth; he is not named on the birth certificate; 
and paternity has never been established by a court order. A 
birth father (whether known or unknown) that meets these 
requirements is called a “putative father.”  

 
Our office will provide Consent Forms to those persons whose consent is 
required. If you already have signed consent forms, please provide the 
originals to us for our review. 
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Putative Fathers Must Be Notified  
 
The birth mother must complete an affidavit that will be filed with the Court 
that sets out information regarding each potential putative father. (A 
putative father is a birth father that meets the requirements in 3(b) above.)  
 
Although consent is not required of a putative father, he must be notified of 
the pending adoption and given an opportunity to assert his legal right to 
establish paternity.  
 
The requirements to notify putative fathers are set out in A.R.S. § 8-106 
and the Arizona Rules of Court. If your adoption requires that you notify a 
putative father of this adoption, our office will provide you with a separate 
informational document entitled “Information Related to 8-106 Procedures” 
that will assist you in complying with the Arizona laws and rules.  
 
 

When does the Petition for Adoption get filed? 
 

Once we have processed all the information you have provided and we 
have obtained the documentation evidencing compliance with the statutory 
requirements for your adoption, we will prepare a Petition for Adoption for 
you to sign.  
 
Please understand that each adoption situation is unique and the ability to 
file the Petition within a certain amount of time can vary. Our office will 
make every effort to keep you informed of how long your adoption should 
expect to take and when we will be able to file the Petition for Adoption and 
have a hearing.  
 
 

Does someone investigate me or visit me at my home?  
 

Arizona requires that a social study be conducted on all applicants seeking 
to adopt a child. (A.R.S. § 8-112).  
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The Social Study May Be A Report Of The Background Check Results  
 
In some circumstances the social study may consist only of the results of 
the state and federal criminal records check and the Central Registry 
records check.  
 
The Social Study May Be A Comprehensive Report  
 
In other circumstances, the social study may consist of a comprehensive 
study prepared by a licensed agency from information you supply them and 
from their actual in-home meetings with your family and the child. Their 
report informs the court of their findings and they will either recommend or 
not recommend finalization of the adoption. The local agency we utilize to 
prepare comprehensive social study reports is Catholic Community 
Services. 
 
A comprehensive social study report is not required by Arizona Statute if 
the prospective adoptive parent is the child’s stepparent who has been 
legally married to the child’s birth or legal parent for at least one year and 
the child has resided with the stepparent and parent for at least one year; 
or the prospective adoptive parent is the child’s adult sibling by whole or 
half blood, or the child’s aunt, uncle, grandparent, or great-grandparent and 
the child has resided with the prospective adoptive parent for at least one 
year. (A.R.S. § 8-112(D))  
 
If a comprehensive social study report is required in your case, Catholic 
Community Services will contact you and arrange to visit and interview you. 
Their report must be provided to our office and filed with the court at least 
10 days before the final hearing on the adoption.  
 
The Cost Of The Comprehensive Social Study  
 
A portion of the cost of the Social Study is the responsibility of the 
Petitioner(s). The Petitioner’s(s’) portion of the cost is calculated as 1% of 
your combined gross annual income as set out in your Federal Tax Return 
for the previous year. (The maximum amount to be paid by a Petitioner for 
a Social Study report is set at $1,000.00, even if the calculation of 1% of  
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your combined gross annual income indicates your portion would be 
higher.)  
 

Federal Tax Credit For All Costs Related To Your Adoption  
 
Please note that you may be eligible for a Federal Tax Credit on your 
Income Tax Return. The tax credit allows you to reclaim all of the costs 
related to this adoption and we strongly suggest that you discuss the costs 
related to your adoption and the tax credit with your accountant or tax 
advisor. 
 
 

Who has to attend the adoption hearing and when will it be? 
 

The prospective adoptive parent(s), the spouse of a prospective adoptive 
parent, and the child being adopted must attend the adoption hearing 
unless the Court orders otherwise.  
 
The hearing on the adoption will be held within:  
 

a. Sixty (60) days after the Petition has been filed if the adoptive child 
has resided in the home of the prospective adoptive parent or 
parents for at least one year immediately preceding the filing of the 
Petition. If the prospective adoptive parent is the stepparent of the 
child, this requirement applies only if the stepparent has been 
married to the birth or legal parent of the child for at least one year;  
 
or  
 

b. Ninety (90) days after the Petition has been filed if the adoptive child 
is under three years of age or has lived in the home of the 
prospective adoptive parent or parents for at least six months 
preceding the filing of the petition. If the prospective adoptive parent 
is the stepparent of the child, this requirement applies only if the 
stepparent has been married to the birth or legal parent of the child 
for at least one year; or  

 
c. Six (6) months after the Petition has been filed in all other cases.  
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Adoptions are Confidential 
 

You should be aware that adoption matters are considered confidential by 
Arizona law. Their confidential status means that our office will be limited in 
who we discuss your case with and we will require releases from our 
client(s), the petitioner(s), in order to discuss your case and work with 
certain other people or agencies.  
 
 

Conclusion  
 

You have just read an overview of the adoption process that is followed in 
the office of the Cochise County Attorney. Although we cannot possibly 
cover every potential scenario in an informational guide  such as this, we 
hope that you now have a better understanding of what must be 
accomplished by you and our office in order for us to proceed to the final 
adoption hearing.  
 
Every step of the way, our office is available to assist you, discuss options 
with you, and provide support and guidance. We are available to answer 
your questions at any time during the adoption process. We appreciate 
your allowing our office to assist you with your adoption and we look 
forward to working with you.  
 

 
Office of Cochise County Attorney  

Civil Department  
Post Office Drawer CA  
Bisbee, Arizona 85603  

520-432-8700 


