
TRAFFIC VIOLATION INFORMATION CARD 
PLEASE READ BEFORE CONTACTING THE COURT 

(Effective January 1st, 2012) 

COCHISE COUNTY 

           Bisbee Justice/Municipal Court  

                     207 N. Judd Drive 

                     Bisbee, AZ  85603                 

                       520-432-9540 
 

HOURS OF OPERATION  

Monday through Friday - 8:00 am TO 5:00 pm 

 

COURT WEBSITES: 
http://cochise.az.gov 

(Court Administration) 

- Choose specific court from this location -  

 

You have just received a traffic citation and may be wondering what 
to do now.  The enclosed information may help you. 

 

Be sure to read both sides of your traffic citation.  It is important for 
you to know that you must respond to the court on or before the 

“Notice To Appear” date shown on the front of your citation. 

 

Failure to appear or contact the court on the date listed on your 

citation, or failure to complete one of the following options may 

result in the issuance of a warrant for your arrest, suspension of 

your driver’s license, and/or additional monetary costs being 

imposed. 

 

YOUR APPEARANCE DATE IS NOT YOUR TRIAL DATE 

 
The following three options are available to you for the citation you 

received or you may appear in court for an initial appearance on the 

date and time shown above your signature on your citation.  If you 
have multiple charges on your citation, you will need to indicate 

your choice for each charge.  

 
YOU MUST APPEAR in person on or before the court date and 

time listed on your complaint if: 

 Your charge is a Class 1 Misdemeanor (Criminal) 

 Your complaint was issued as a result of an accident 

involving death or serious physical injury 

 You are under 18 years of age.  A parent or guardian 

must accompany you to court. 
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PAYMENT OPTIONS 

 Money Order, Cashier’s Check, Personal Check made 
payable to Cochise County Treasurer ($25.00 will be 

assessed for all returned checks.) 

 Visa, MasterCard or Discover Card by mail or phone 

 http://cochise.az.gov (Court Administration) 

 

NO PERSONAL CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED FOR 

LATE PAYMENTS OR SUSPENSIONS 

 

OPTION #1 

DEFENSIVE DRIVING PROGRAM 

(For Civil Traffic Violations Only) 

 
 
Arizona statute provides that under certain circumstances, you may 

divert one traffic violation by attending a defensive driving class.  
You may be eligible for the program if you meet all of the following 

requirements: 

 A violation code on your citation matches one which is 
indicated in the Fine/Sanction Schedule 

 Your traffic charge was not issued as a result of an 
accident involving death or a serious physical injury 

 Your traffic charge has not already been paid or set for 
trial or hearing 

 You have not attended a Defensive Driving class for 

dismissal of a traffic charged received in the State of 

Arizona within the past two years (violation date to 

violation date) 

If you choose to attend: 

1. No court appearance is required for that charge only. 
2. The charge will be dismissed. 

3. No fine will be assessed for the charge 
4. No points are will be added to your record for the charge. 

 

What Must I do? 

    

1.  Enroll by immediately calling any approved Arizona state 

defensive driving school. 
     

**************** 
 

Further information and a list of defensive driving 

schools may be found at the following website:  

http://www.supreme.state.az.us/driveschoolinfo/ 

or by calling 1-888-334-5565 

 

***************** 

 

2.  Complete the class 7 days before your appearance date.    
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OPTION #2 

PAY YOUR FINE BY MAIL 

(Enter a Plea of Guilty/Responsible) 
If you complete this option, you are admitting responsibility for the 
violation(s).   The court will enter a judgment of guilty/responsible 

and will report the findings to the Motor Vehicle Division.  Points 

will be assessed to your driving record for any moving violations. 
1. READ AND SIGN the following statement: 

“I hereby waive my right to trial/hearing, enter a plea of 

guilty/responsible, and consent to judgment imposing the 
prescribed fine/sanction.” 

______________________________________________ 

                                 SIGN HERE 

2. WRITE the Complaint Number in the boxes below 

(located in upper left corner of your citation.) 

        

3. MATCH the violation code(s) on your Complaint to the 

codes listed on the Fine/Sanction Schedule to determine 

the amount owed. 

4. FILL IN all information requested below.  Print name, 

address and date of birth exactly as they appear on the 

Complaint.  Circle the Charge letters and enter the 
appropriate amount for each charge you are paying 

(charges A-E are on the left side of the Complaint.) 

5. PAY the total amount due by money order, cashier’s 
check or credit card.  DO NOT SEND CASH.  A $25 

Fee will be charged for all checks/money orders returned 

for non-sufficient funds.  If payment receipt is required, 
enclose a stamped, self-addressed envelope. 

6. DETACH this completed page and mail it with your 

payment and either the original or a photocopy of the 
Complaint. 

7. MAIL at least 5 working days before the court date 

written above your signature on the Complaint. 

IF PAYMENT IS NOT RECEIVED BY YOUR COURT 

DATE, an additional $40 time payment fee is due; your 

DRIVER’S LICENSE may be suspended; your account 

may be referred to COLLECTIONS; your delinquent 

status reported to a CREDIT BUREAU; and your 

COMMANDING OFFICER notified (military.) 

NAME ____________________________________________ 

ADDRESS ________________________________________ 

CITY ______________________STATE _____ ZIP_______ 

DAY PHONE #______________________D.O.B._________ 

     Circle the charges being paid,          A = $__________ 

     enter the amount for each charge,         B = $__________ 
     add fee, enter  total           C = $__________ 

            D = $__________ 

            E = $__________ 
     Add Justice Court Security Fee                $_____36.60  

      

     Add $40 time payment fee, if applicable             = $__________ 
    Total   = $__________ 

     Method of Payment: 

 □  Money Order       □  Check 
     Credit Card:    □  Visa      □    MasterCard       □  Discover Card        

     Exp Date _________ Cardholder Name:  ___________________     

     Credit Card Number 

                

 

    Cardholder Signature _________________________________ 
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     OPTION #3 

REQUEST A TRIAL/HEARING DATE 
 

1. READ AND SIGN the following statement: 

“I request a trial/hearing to contest the charges 

indicated below.  I enter my plea of Not Guilty/ 

Responsible.  I understand that I am giving up the 

option of attending a defensive driving class on those 

charges for which I have requested a trial/hearing be 

set.” 

______________________________________________ 

                                    SIGN HERE 

From your Arizona Traffic Ticket and Complaint: 

2. WRITE the Complaint Number in the boxes below 
(located in upper left corner of your citation.) 

 

 

 

3. CHECK the charge letters in the box below for each 

charge you are requesting a trial/hearing be set (charges 
A-E are on the left side of the Complaint.) 

       

 
 

 

 
 

 

  
 

 

4. PRINT the following information: 

NAME ____________________________________________ 

ADDRESS_________________________________________ 

CITY_____________________STATE____ZIP__________ 

DAY PHONE #____________________D.O.B.___________ 

       Check here if this address is a change from the one listed 

on the Complaint. 

5. CHECK one box: 
□     I will be represented by an attorney 

□    I will not be represented by an attorney 

6. DETACH this page with either the original or a 
photocopy of the Complaint and MAIL at least 5 

working days before the court date written above your 

signature on the Complaint.  If your request is not 
received by your court date, a warrant will be issued or 

default judgment entered and additional fees will be 

assessed. 
7. You will be notified by mail of your assigned 

trial/hearing date.  You must appear on that date and be 

ready to present evidence and examine witnesses before a 
judge or hearing officer. 

 

YOU MUST BE PREPARED TO PAY ANY FINE 

IMPOSED ON THE DAY OF YOUR TRIAL/HEARING.  

FAILURE TO APPEAR WILL RESULT IN 

ADDITIONAL MONETARY PENALTIES, DRIVER’S 

LICENCE SUSPENSION, AND/OR THE ISSUANCE OF 

A WARRANT FOR YOUR ARREST. 
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             CHARGE # 

A  

B  

C  

D  

E  

 

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) holders are not 

eligible for the Defensive Driving Program. 

This includes violations received while driving 
personal vehicles or non commercial vehicles. 

http://cochise.az.gov/
http://cochise.az.gov/
http://www.supreme.state.az.us/driveschoolinfo/


IMPORTANT NOTICES 
 

FAIL TO STOP AT A RED LIGHT (A.R.S. 28-645A3A) 

FLASHING RED SIGNAL (A.R.S. 28-647.1) 

 

If you have received a citation for violation of 28-645A3A or 28-

647.1, you may be eligible to attend Defensive Driving School and 

have the violation dismissed.  If you choose not to attend Defensive 
Driving School or are not eligible and are found responsible for the 

violation, you will be assigned by the Motor Vehicle Division 

(MVD) to attend a Traffic Survival School class when MVD 
receives notice of the violation. 

 

CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINT (A.R.S. 28-907A) 

 

Purchase of a child passenger restraint system after the date and time 

the complaint was issued MAY result in a reduced sanction.  
Contact the court for further information. 

 

NO PROOF OF REGISTRATION (A.R.S. 28-2532A) 

 

If you did not have valid registration at the time the citation was 

issued but have since obtained valid registration, mail or bring proof 
to the court by your court date and the sanction may be reduced.  If 

you are not the owner of the vehicle, you may file a written 

statement at the court or by mail by your court date and the charge 
may be dismissed.  If you have valid registration at the time the 

citation was issued, and mail or bring proof to the court by your 

court date, the fine may be reduced. 
 

NO DRIVER’S LICENSE IN POSSESSION (A.R.S. 28-3169A) 

 

The charge will be dismissed if proof is shown by your court date 

that your driver’s license was valid on the date and time the 

complaint was issued.  If you did not have a valid driver’s license at 
the time the citation was issued but have since obtained a valid 

driver’s license, mail or bring proof to the court by your court date 

and no monetary sanction will be imposed. 
 

INSURANCE VIOLATION (A.R.S. 28-4135A, B OR C) 

(Effective September 30, 2009) 

 

The sanction for no insurance is: 

 

 A minimum fine of $950.00 will be assessed 

 Your driver’s license, vehicle registration, and vehicle 
license plates will be suspended by MVD for 3 months 

(first offense,) 6 months (second offense,) or 1 year (third 

offense.) 

 

A.R.S. § 28-4135 B or C:  If valid proof is shown to the court on or 
before your appearance date that valid insurance was in effect on the 

date the citation was issued, the insurance violation will be 

dismissed. 
 

A.R.S. § 28-4135 A, B or C:  If you provide the court on or before 

your appearance date with proof of pre-paid 6-month liability 
insurance and a record from MVD showing no insurance violations 

in 24 months or only one in 36 months, the sanction may be reduced. 
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FINE/SANCTION SCHEDULE 

A plea of guilty/responsible must be received by the 

court before payment can be accepted. 

 FINE/ WITH 

VIOLATION CODE SANCTION ACCIDENT 

28-448A 135.00 n/a 

28-644A1 135.00 n/a 

28-645A1A & 28-645A1B 135.00 173.00 

28-645A2B 135.00 173.00 

28-645A3A (p. 5) 135.00 173.00 

28-645A3B & 28-645A3C 135.00 173.00 

28-645A3D 117.00 173.00 

28-646A1 135.00 173.00 

28-646A2 & 28-646B 117.00 173.00 

28-647.1 & 28-647.2 (p. 5) 117.00 173.00 

28-650 195.00 n/a 

28-651 135.00 173.00 

28-693A 475.00 n/a 

28-701A p.8  

28-701E p.8  
28-701.02A1, A2 
28-701.02A3 p.8  

28-702.01A 60.00 n/a 

28-702.01C thru 28-702.04B p.8  

28-704A & 28-704B p.8  

28-721 thru 28-735A 135.00 173.00 

28-751.1 thru 28-792B 135.00 173.00 

28-793A, B & C 117.00 173.00 

28-794.2 & 28-794.3 117.00 173.00 

28-795 117.00 173.00 

28-796A, B & C 117.00 173.00 

28-797E 
CONTACT THE COURT 

FOR FINE AMOUNT 

28-797G 246.00 n/a 

28-811A 111.00 173.00 

28-813A thru 28-815B 111.00 173.00 

28-815D 111.00 173.00 

28-855B & 28-855C 135.00 173.00 

28-856.1, 2 & 3 135.00 173.00 

28-857A1 & 28-857A2 493.00 n/a 

28-871A 135.00 n/a 

28-873.1 thru 28-873.14 135.00 n/a 

28-874A & 28-875C 135.00 173.00 

28-884A 135.00 n/a 
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 FINE/ WITH 

VIOLATION CODE SANCTION ACCIDENT 
 

  

28-891A 135.00 173.00 

28-896 135.00 173.00 

28-897 135.00 173.00 

28-898A & B 195.00 173.00 

28-903A thru 28-903D 135.00 173.00 

28-904A 135.00 173.00 

28-906 135.00 173.00 

28-907A (p.5) 125.00 n/a 

28-909A1, A2 & B 51.00 n/a 

28-921A1A thru 28-964B 105.00 173.00 

28-965 105.00 n/a 

28-981.1 & 28-981.2 105.00 173.00 

28-983A thru 28-983D2 105.00 173.00 

28-1091A thru 28-1098B 105.00 173.00 

28-1104C 128.00 n/a 

28-2008 thru 28-2060E 129.00 n/a 

28-2153A 533.00 n/a 

28-2153B1 & B2 533.00 n/a 

28-2158C thru 2165A 129.00 n/a 

28-2203 159.00 n/a 

28-2322 475.00 n/a 

28-2354A1 thru 28-2354B3 129.00 n/a 

28-2531B1 475.00 n/a 

28-2532A (p.5) 608.00 n/a 

28-2533A 548.00 n/a 

28-3151A thru 28-3157B 159.00 n/a 

28-3169A (p.5) 159.00 n/a 

28-3222 thru 28-3225B3 159.00 n/a 

28-3474 475.00 n/a 

28-3475 208.00 n/a 

28-4135A, B, C (p.5) 963.00 n/a 

28-4139A 493.00 n/a 
 
 
 

Violation codes in red are eligible for the 
     Defensive Driving Program. 
  

 

  
For any violation cited as the cause of a traffic accident, 
the minimum fine/sanction is $173.00   
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Fine Schedule for Speeding Violations 
(See Page 6 for Violation Code) 

 FINE/  

VIOLATION CODE SANCTION  
 

*MPH Over Posted Limit  

     1-5 93.00 

     6-10 163.00 

     11-15 233.00 

     16-20 303.00 

     21-25 373.00 

     26-30 443.00 

     31-35 513.00 

     36-40 583.00 

     41-45 653.00 

     46-50 723.00 

     51-55 793.00 

     56-60 863.00 

     61-65 933.00 

 
Maximum fine for Civil Traffic is $420.00 

 

 

  
 

  

FEDERAL TRUCKING REGULATIONS 
 (R17-5-202) 

391.11A&B 273.00 n/a 

391.15 598.00 n/a 

391.41A 123.00 n/a 

391.45A 123.00 n/a 

392.9A1 273.00 n/a 

392.60 123.00 n/a 

392.71 273.00 n/a 

393.9-393.33 123.00 n/a 

393.42-393.51 273.00 n/a 

395.3A 273.00 n/a 

395.3B 598.00 n/a 

395.8A&E 598.00 n/a 

395.8F1 123.00 n/a 

395.8K2 598.00 n/a 

396.3A1 273.00 n/a 

396.7 598.00 n/a 
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