TRAFFIC VIOLATION INFORMATION CARD

PLEASE READ BEFORE CONTACTING THE COURT

(Effective July 3, 2015)
COCHISE COUNTY

Willcox Justice/Municipal Court
450 S. Haskell Ave., Willcox, AZ 85643
               520-384-7000
Fax – 520-384-7019
HOURS OF OPERATION 

Monday through Friday - 8:00 am TO 5:00 pm

COURT WEBSITES:

http://cochise.az.gov/cochise_justice_court_4.aspx?id=740
or

http://cochise.az.gov
(Court Administration)
- Choose specific court from this location – 
PAY ON THE WEB

Go to www.justiceEZtrac.com to:

Set up a payment plan, make your payment online, e-mail to the court or call 1-866-846-8296

You have just received a traffic citation and may be wondering what to do now.  The enclosed information may help you.

Be sure to read both sides of your traffic citation.  It is important for you to know that you must respond to the court on or before the “Notice To Appear” date shown on the front of your citation.

Failure to appear or contact the court on the date listed on your citation, or failure to complete one of the following options may result in the issuance of a warrant for your arrest, suspension of your driver’s license, and/or additional monetary costs being imposed.

YOUR APPEARANCE DATE IS NOT YOUR TRIAL DATE

The following three options are available to you for the citation you received or you may appear in court for an initial appearance on the date and time shown above your signature on your citation.  If you have multiple charges on your citation, you will need to indicate your choice for each charge. 

YOU MUST APPEAR in person on or before the court date and time listed on your complaint if:

· Your charge is a Class 1 Misdemeanor (Criminal)
· Your complaint was issued as a result of an accident involving death or serious physical injury

· You are under 18 years of age.  A parent or guardian must accompany you to court.
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PAYMENT OPTIONS

· Money Order, Cashier’s Check, Personal Check made payable to Cochise County Treasurer ($25.00 will be assessed for all returned checks.)

· Visa, MasterCard or Discover Card by mail or phone

· http://cochise.az.gov (Court Administration)
NO PERSONAL CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED FOR LATE PAYMENTS OR SUSPENSIONS
OPTION #1

DEFENSIVE DRIVING PROGRAM

(For Civil Traffic Violations Only)


[image: image1]
Arizona statute provides that under certain circumstances, you may divert one traffic violation by attending a defensive driving class.  You may be eligible for the program if you meet all of the following requirements:

· A violation code on your citation matches one which is indicated in the Fine/Sanction Schedule
· Your traffic charge was not issued as a result of an accident involving death or a serious physical injury

· Your traffic charge has not already been paid or set for trial or hearing

· You have not attended a Defensive Driving class for dismissal of a traffic charged received in the State of Arizona within the past year (12 months) (violation date to violation date)

If you choose to attend:

1. No court appearance is required for that charge only.
2. The charge will be dismissed.

3. No fine will be assessed for the charge

4. No points are will be added to your record for the charge.

What Must I do?

1.  Enroll by immediately calling any approved Arizona state defensive driving school.
****************

Further information and a list of defensive driving schools may be found at the following website:  http://www.supreme.state.az.us/driveschoolinfo/
or by calling 1-888-334-5565
*****************
2.  Complete the class 7 days before your appearance date.
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OPTION #2
PAY YOUR FINE BY MAIL
(Enter a Plea of Guilty/Responsible)

If you complete this option, you are admitting responsibility for the violation(s).   The court will enter a judgment of guilty/responsible and will report the findings to the Motor Vehicle Division.  Points will be assessed to your driving record for any moving violations.

1. READ AND SIGN the following statement:

“I hereby waive my right to trial/hearing, enter a plea of guilty/responsible, and consent to judgment imposing the prescribed fine/sanction.”

______________________________________________

                                 SIGN HERE
2. WRITE the Complaint Number in the boxes below (located in upper left corner of your citation.)

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	


3. MATCH the violation code(s) on your Complaint to the codes listed on the Fine/Sanction Schedule to determine the amount owed.

4. FILL IN all information requested below.  Print name, address and date of birth exactly as they appear on the Complaint.  Circle the Charge letters and enter the appropriate amount for each charge you are paying (charges A-E are on the left side of the Complaint.)

5. PAY the total amount due by money order, cashier’s check or credit card.  DO NOT SEND CASH.  A $25 Fee will be charged for all checks/money orders returned for non-sufficient funds.  If payment receipt is required, enclose a stamped, self-addressed envelope.

6. DETACH this completed page and mail it with your payment and either the original or a photocopy of the Complaint.

7. MAIL at least 5 working days before the court date written above your signature on the Complaint.

IF PAYMENT IS NOT RECEIVED BY YOUR COURT DATE, an additional $40 time payment fee is due; your DRIVER’S LICENSE may be suspended; your account may be referred to COLLECTIONS; your delinquent status reported to a CREDIT BUREAU; and your COMMANDING OFFICER notified (military.)

NAME ____________________________________________

ADDRESS ________________________________________

CITY ______________________STATE _____ ZIP_______

DAY PHONE #______________________D.O.B._________

     Circle the charges being paid,

        A = $__________
     enter the amount for each charge,
        B = $__________
     add fee, enter  total 

        C = $__________




        D = $__________





        E = $__________

     Add Justice Court Security Fee
               $_____36.60
     Add $40 time payment fee, if applicable
            = $__________





Total   = $__________

     Method of Payment:


□  Money Order       □  Check

     Credit Card:    □  Visa      □    MasterCard       □  Discover Card       
     Exp Date __________

     Cardholder Name: _____________________________________    

     Credit Card Number
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	


    Cardholder Signature _________________________________
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     OPTION #3
REQUEST A TRIAL/HEARING DATE
1. READ AND SIGN the following statement:
“I request a trial/hearing to contest the charges indicated below.  I enter my plea of Not Guilty/
Responsible.  I understand that I am giving up the option of attending a defensive driving class on those charges for which I have requested a trial/hearing be set.”

______________________________________________

                                    SIGN HERE

From your Arizona Traffic Ticket and Complaint:

2. WRITE the Complaint Number in the boxes below (located in upper left corner of your citation.)

	
	
	
	
	
	


3. CHECK the charge letters in the box below for each charge you are requesting a trial/hearing be set (charges A-E are on the left side of the Complaint.)

	             CHARGE #

	A
	

	B
	

	C
	

	D
	

	E
	


4. PRINT the following information:

NAME ____________________________________________

ADDRESS_________________________________________

CITY_____________________STATE____ZIP__________

DAY PHONE #____________________D.O.B.___________

       Check here if this address is a change from the one listed on the Complaint.

5. CHECK one box:

□     I will be represented by an attorney

□    I will not be represented by an attorney

6. DETACH this page with either the original or a photocopy of the Complaint and MAIL at least 5 working days before the court date written above your signature on the Complaint.  If your request is not received by your court date, a warrant will be issued or default judgment entered and additional fees will be assessed.

7. You will be notified by mail of your assigned trial/hearing date.  You must appear on that date and be ready to present evidence and examine witnesses before a judge or hearing officer.

YOU MUST BE PREPARED TO PAY ANY FINE IMPOSED ON THE DAY OF YOUR TRIAL/HEARING.  FAILURE TO APPEAR WILL RESULT IN ADDITIONAL MONETARY PENALTIES, DRIVER’S LICENCE SUSPENSION, AND/OR THE ISSUANCE OF A WARRANT FOR YOUR ARREST.
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IMPORTANT NOTICES

FAIL TO STOP AT A RED LIGHT (A.R.S. 28-645A3A)
FLASHING RED SIGNAL (A.R.S. 28-647.1)

If you have received a citation for violation of 28-645A3A or 28-647.1, you may be eligible to attend Defensive Driving School and have the violation dismissed.  If you choose not to attend Defensive Driving School or are not eligible and are found responsible for the violation, you will be assigned by the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) to attend a Traffic Survival School class when MVD receives notice of the violation.

CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINT (A.R.S. 28-907A)

Purchase of a child passenger restraint system after the date and time the complaint was issued MAY result in a reduced sanction.  Contact the court for further information.

NO PROOF OF REGISTRATION (A.R.S. 28-2532A)

If you did not have valid registration at the time the citation was issued but have since obtained valid registration, mail or bring proof to the court by your court date and the sanction may be reduced.  If you are not the owner of the vehicle, you may file a written statement at the court or by mail by your court date and the charge may be dismissed.  If you have valid registration at the time the citation was issued, and mail or bring proof to the court by your court date, the fine may be reduced.

NO DRIVER’S LICENSE IN POSSESSION (A.R.S. 28-3169A)

The charge will be dismissed if proof is shown by your court date that your driver’s license was valid on the date and time the complaint was issued.  If you did not have a valid driver’s license at the time the citation was issued but have since obtained a valid driver’s license, mail or bring proof to the court by your court date and no monetary sanction will be imposed.
INSURANCE VIOLATION (A.R.S. 28-4135A, B OR C)
(Effective September 30, 2009)
The sanction for no insurance is:

· A minimum fine of $965.00 will be assessed

· Your driver’s license, vehicle registration, and vehicle license plates will be suspended by MVD for 3 months (first offense,) 6 months (second offense,) or 1 year (third offense.)

A.R.S. § 28-4135 B or C:  If valid proof is shown to the court on or before your appearance date that valid insurance was in effect on the date the citation was issued, the insurance violation will be dismissed.

A.R.S. § 28-4135 A, B or C:  If you provide the court on or before your appearance date with proof of pre-paid 6-month liability insurance and a record from MVD showing no insurance violations in 24 months or only one in 36 months, the sanction may be reduced.
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FINE/SANCTION SCHEDULE
A plea of guilty/responsible must be received by the court before payment can be accepted.
		FINE/

	WITH


	VIOLATION CODE

	SANCTION

	ACCIDENT


	28-448A

	137.00

	n/a


	28-644A1

	137.00

	n/a


	28-645A1A & 28-645A1B

	137.00

	175.00

	28-645A2B

	137.00

	175.00

	28-645A3A (p. 5)

	137.00

	175.00

	28-645A3B & 28-645A3C

	137.00

	175.00

	28-645A3D

	119.00

	175.00

	28-646A1

	137.00
	175.00

	28-646A2 & 28-646B

	119.00

	175.00

	28-647.1 & 28-647.2 (p. 5)

	119.00

	175.00

	28-650

	197.00

	n/a


	28-651

	137.00

	175.00

	28-693A

	477.00

	n/a


	28-701A

	p.8
	
	28-701E

	p.8
	
	28-701.02A1, A2
28-701.02A3
	p.8
	
	28-702.01A

	62.00

	n/a


	28-702.01C thru 28-702.04B

	p.8
	
	28-704A & 28-704B

	p.8
	
	28-721 thru 28-735A

	137.00

	175.00

	28-751.1 thru 28-792B

	137.00

	175.00

	28-793A, B & C

	119.00

	175.00

	28-794.2 & 28-794.3

	119.00

	175.00

	28-795

	119.00

	175.00

	28-796A, B & C

	119.00

	175.00

	28-797E

	CONTACT THE COURT FOR FINE AMOUNT


	28-797G

	248.00
	n/a


	28-811A

	113.00

	175.00

	28-813A thru 28-815B

	113.00

	175.00

	28-815D

	113.00
	175.00

	28-855B & 28-855C

	137.00

	175.00

	28-856.1, 2 & 3

	137.00

	175.00

	28-857A1 & 28-857A2

	495.00

	n/a


	28-871A

	137.00
	n/a


	28-873.1 thru 28-873.14

	137.00
	n/a


	28-874A & 28-875C

	137.00
	175.00

	28-884A

	137.00

	n/a
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	FINE/

WITH

VIOLATION CODE

SANCTION

ACCIDENT


	
	

	28-891A

137.00

175.00
28-896

137.00

175.00
28-897

137.00

175.00
28-898A & B

197.00

175.00
28-903A thru 28-903D

137.00

175.00
28-904A

137.00

175.00
28-906

137.00

175.00
28-907A (p.5)

127.00

n/a

28-909A1, A2 & B

53.00

n/a

28-921A1A thru 28-964B

107.00

175.00
28-965

107.00

n/a

28-981.1 & 28-981.2

107.00

175.00
28-983A thru 28-983D2

107.00

175.00
28-1091A thru 28-1098B

107.00

175.00
28-1104C

131.00

n/a

28-2008 thru 28-2060E

131.00
n/a

28-2153A

535.00

n/a

28-2153B1 & B2

535.00

n/a

28-2158C thru 2165A

131.00
n/a

28-2203

161.00

n/a

28-2354A1 thru 28-2354B3

131.00
n/a

28-2531B1

477.00

n/a

28-2532A (p.5)

610.00

n/a

28-2533A

584.00
n/a

28-3151A thru 28-3157B

161.00
n/a

28-3169A (p.5)

161.00

n/a

28-3222 thru 28-3225B3

161.00

n/a

28-3474

477.00

n/a

28-3475

210.00

n/a

28-4135A, B, C (p.5)

965.00

n/a

28-4139A

495.00

n/a

Violation codes in red are eligible for the

     Defensive Driving Program.


	
	

	For any violation cited as the cause of a traffic accident, the minimum fine/sanction is $175.00
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	

	7
Fine Schedule for Speeding Violations

(See Page 6 for Violation Code)
FINE/

VIOLATION CODE

SANCTION


	
	

	*MPH Over Posted Limit
	

	     1-5
	95.00

	     6-10
	165.00

	     11-15
	235.00

	     16-20
	305.00

	     21-25
	375.00

	     26-30
	445.00

	     31-35
	515.00

	     36-40
	585.00

	     41-45
	655.00

	     46-50
	725.00

	     51-55
	795.00

	     56-60
	865.00

	     61-65
	935.00

	Maximum fine for Civil Traffic is $420.00


	
	

	FEDERAL TRUCKING REGULATIONS

 (R17-5-202)
391.11B1-B4
600.00
n/a

391.15

275.00

n/a

391.41A

125.00
n/a

391.45A

600.00
n/a

392.9A1

123.00
n/a

392.60

123.00
n/a

392.71

273.00
n/a

393.9-393.33
275.00
n/a

393.42-393.51

275.00
n/a

395.3A
600.00
n/a

395.3B

600.00
n/a

395.8A&E

600.00

n/a

395.8F1

125.00
n/a

395.8K2

600.00
n/a

396.3A1

275.00
n/a

396.7

275.00
n/a
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Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) holders are not eligible for the Defensive Driving Program.


This includes violations received while driving personal vehicles or non commercial vehicles.








